HOME   |   CONTACT US  
MAKE A PAYMENT SEARCH RECORDS ATTORNEYS' PAGE SELF HELP CENTER COMMUNITY
SPENDING IN THE SUNSHINE FINANCIAL REPORTS STATISTICS GET FORMS WATCH VIDEOS
 

 

Marriage License FAQs



NOTE:
  • Blood tests are not required in Florida.
  • A marriage license may be applied for and solemnized in any Florida county.
  • Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the issue date. The marriage ceremony must be performed betweenthe effective date and the expiration date on the license.
  • Florida Statute 741.08 states that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony and within 10 days after the ceremony, he shall make a certificate thereof of the license, and shall transmit the same to the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court from which it issued.

Requirements to obtain marriage license in the State of Florida:

Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license, sign the application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided.

Both parties must provide proof of the following:

  • Age: both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Identification: in the form of a driver's license, state ID, military ID or passport.
  • U.S. citizens must provide their Social Security Number. Non-citizens may provide a Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Also, a passport is an acceptable form of identification for non-citizens.
  • An application form must be completed. If either party has been previously married, you must note on the application how and when the marriage ended.
The fee for the marriage license is $93.50. This fee is reduced to $61.00 for Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course.

The following methods of payment are acceptable:

  • Cash
  • Money order
  • Traveler's check
  • Personal Check (Name and current address must be imprinted on check and you must present a photo ID).
  • Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard and Discover or American Express

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage

Copies of marriage licenses for Pinellas County are available for viewing and purchase in the Official Records Rooms at our stated locations.

The charge for a copy is $1.00 per page and $2.00 to certify the document, if certification is needed. If you are going to use the copy for a legal purpose, you would want to have the copy certified. There is no charge to view a document.

You may also send a written request for a copy. Please provide the bride's maiden name, the groom's name, and if known, date of marriage. Please make checks payable to Clerk of Circuit Court. The mailing address is Clerk of the Circuit Court, Official Records, Room 163, 315 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756.

You may access images of recorded marriage licenses (from 2003 forward) at https://pubtitles.co.pinellas.fl.us/login/clerkloginx.jsp. Click on "Official Records Book/Page or Name Search."

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Is there a waiting period for the issuance of a license?
  2. How do I find a premarital Course provider?
  3. Who may perform marriage ceremonies?
  4. Who is a "regularly ordained minister"?
  5. May we get married by a captain aboard a ship?
  6. Can I be married in the Clerk's Office?
  7. How long does it take to get a copy of our marriage record and how much does it cost?
  8. Can people obtain a license to marry partners of their own gender?
  9. Can a person marry someone to whom they are related?
  10. Do one or both of the applicants have to be U.S. citizens?
  11. Do we need a license to renew our vows? How do we go about doing this?
  12. Under what circumstances may a license be issued to persons 16 or 17 years of age?
  13. Can an individual who is younger than 16 get a marriage license with parental permission?
  14. Now that I am married how do I change my name?

Image of a Q Is there a waiting period for the issuance of a license?
Image of an A There is no waiting period for Florida residents who have presented both of the following:

  • Certificate of completion of premarital preparation course from a qualified registered course provider.
  • Statement attesting they have taken a premarital preparation course and read the Family Law Handbook outlining the rights and responsibilities of parties to a marriage.
Otherwise there is a 3 day waiting period.

Please note: There is no waiting period for NON-RESIDENTS.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q How do I find a premarital Course provider?
Image of an A The Clerk of the Court does not give the course. We can give you names of registered providers in your area. Providers set their own fees and terms. For instance, some ministers will provide the course only for their own church members.

If you receive a certificate of premarital counseling it must state the course was a minimum of four hours, it was given within the past year, and state whether it was given by personal instruction or other means.

The certificate must be presented at the time of application for the license.

  • Statement of Premarital Course
  • List of Providers
  • Request for inclusion on Pinellas County Clerk's Premartial Preparation Course Provider List

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Who may perform marriage ceremonies?
    Image of an A The following individuals may perform marriage ceremonies:

    • All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, elders in communion with a church, or other ordained clergy.
    • All judicial officers, including retired judicial officers, Clerks of the Circuit Courts, and public notaries of this state.
    • Quakers" or "Friends," may perform marriages in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Who is a "regularly ordained minister"?
    Image of an A He/she is a minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination to perform marriage ceremonies.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q May we get married by a captain aboard a ship?
    Image of an A Yes, if the captain is a notary and the ship is in Florida waters (within three geographic miles from the coastline) at the time of the ceremony.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Can I be married in the Clerk's Office?
    Image of an A Yes. Deputy clerks are authorized and available during normal working hours, Monday through Friday, to perform ceremonies. No appointment is necessary. The fee for this service is $30.00.

    The Pinellas County Clerk's Offices now offer wedding photos for a $10 fee.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage

    Image of a Q How long does it take to get a copy of our marriage record and how much does it cost?
    Image of an A You will receive a certified copy of your marriage certificate within 10 days after the officiator returns it to our office to be recorded. There is no charge for this copy. However additional certified copies cost $3.00 each.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Can people obtain a license to marry partners of their own gender?
    Image of an A No. Florida Statute 741.04 specifies that one applicant must be male and the other female.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Can a person marry someone to whom they are related?
    Image of an A Florida law prohibits a person marrying anyone to whom they are related by lineal consanguinity.

    Florida Statute 741.21 Incestuous Marriage prohibited - A man may not marry any woman to whom he is related by lineal consanguinity, nor his sister, nor his aunt, nor his niece. A woman may not marry any man to whom she is related by lineal consanguinity, nor her brother, nor her uncle, nor her nephew.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Do one or both of the applicants have to be U.S. citizens?
    Image of an A No. There is no citizenship or resident requirement.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Do we need a license to renew our vows? How do we go about doing this?
    Image of an A No. Speak to your clergyman, chaplain, or other advisor.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Under what circumstances may a license be issued to persons 16 or 17 years of age?
    Image of an A Circumstances are as follows:

    • Written consent of both parents or legal guardian.
    • Parents are deceased.
    • Minor has been previously married.
    • The age requirement can be waived by a county judge for applicants who can prove they are parents or expectant parents.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Can an individual who is younger than 16 get a marriage license from the Clerk's Office with parental permission?
    Image of an A No. With or without parental permission, a marriage license to anyone under age 16 can only be issued by a county judge.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Image of a Q Now that I am married how do I change my name?
    Image of an ATake a certified copy of your marriage license to any agency or place of business that you wish to notify of you name change. For example, take your certified copy to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Division of Drivers Licenses, to change your name on your drivers’ license.

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Marriage License Application Forms

    Marriage Worksheet

    Statement of Premarital Course

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Marriage License Fees

    Couple, both Florida residents, both took course Fee $61.00 - no wait
    Couple, both non-residents of Florida Fee $93.50 - No wait
    Couple, one Florida resident, One non-resident, neither took course Fee $93.50 - 3-day wait
    Couple, one non-Florida resident, no course and one Florida resident who took course Fee $93.50 - No wait
    Performing ceremony at the Clerk’s Office Fee $30.00

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


    Contact Information

    Our prerecorded marriage license information line is available 24 hours a day at (727) 464-4700. You may speak to a clerk at that number during regular office hours.

    A marriage license may be obtained during regular office hours, at any one of the following offices of the Clerk of the Circuit Court:

    RECORDING SERVICES DEPARTMENT
    315 Court St., Room 150
    Clearwater, FL 33756
    (727) 464-4876

    ST. PETERSBURG BRANCH OFFICE
    545 First Avenue, N.
    St. Petersburg, FL 33701
    (727) 582-7771

    NORTH COUNTY BRANCH OFFICE
    29582 U.S. 19 North
    Clearwater, FL 33761
    (727) 464-8710

    CLERK'S TYRONE BRANCH OFFICE
    1800 66th St., N.
    St. Petersburg, FL 33710
    (727) 582-7681

    Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage

    Return to:
    Marriage License Department
    Marriage License Fees
    Family Law Handbook
    Marriage License Contact Information

  • Ken Burke, Clerk of the Circuit Court
    Email | Disclaimer | Webmaster